Dear Shepherd

Posted: July 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

Dear Shepherd,

I must admit, I haven’t really considered the fate of the shepherd in our new high-tech society.  While I know things must change and move with the times, I somehow didn’t picture how sheep herding would be brought into the 21st century.

When I picture sheep and the ones who tend them, I picture rolling hills, fluffy white clouds, a cute dog or two, and maybe a pan flute.

I don’t picture a dog kennel in the back of a pick-up truck.

Was it necessary to move those five (five?!) sheep in that way?  They didn’t look particularly thrilled to be thrust that way into modern society.

Where were you taking them, anyway?  The direction you were heading didn’t seem to be one that would welcome sheep.  It’s not like you were spotted deep in the wilds of our great nation, but on a ridiculously busy road.

Well, I hope you all arrived safely, and you and your woolly friends are enjoying any fields you have to frolic in.

Signed,

The Driver Next to You

Leave a Reply

